West Glos & Dean Forest
Motor Cycle Club

Celebrating 69 Years of Motor Cycling 1953 - 2022

Stump Wood Hill Climb - 12 August 2006

Words By Ben Falconer - Matt's Report - Full Results

THE brothers Bishop returned to Rockfield following last year's absence and cleaned up once again.

Ben Bishop topped the overall classification ahead of younger sibling Joe, who was pushed out of challenging for the win after a fall on the second timed hill.

Initially sharing dad Julian's Honda CRF 250 with Joe, Ben squeezed quicker times from Mike Allen's KTM 525, and was not far off those aboard Matt Neale's CCM 604 either. (Good job he didn't get hold of that 1200BMW in the car park for the last lap then! ed.)

Only a five second penalty on the second of two observed sections prevented him breaking the 400 second barrier, over the four attempts of each of the four timed hills.

The Bishops took first and second in the Enduro class and both rode with sufficient speed to mark them out from the rest of the 27-strong entry.

Jerry Walters' performance on his Yamaha DT 200 WR belied its trailbike status, posting third best time overall and grabbing the trailbike class win. Colin Jones (Honda CRM 250) clearly had his race face on and clinched second in class, beating Jim Delahay (Honda 230) by three seconds. (Only 3? Damn! note to self, 'must try harder' ed.)

Fourth overall was Ben Bates who gave his Honda 450 a spirited workout to claim third in the Enduro class.

Steve Biddle gave his KX 250 a shakedown ahead of the Weston Beach Race and picked up the Motocross class honours. Ben Falconer (Gas Gas 250) headed the Trials class with a consistent ride.

Thanks to the timekeepers, observers, clerk of the course Ian Hannam and club president Roy Breakwell for use of the venue.

Main Results: Full Results here

  • Enduro: 1. Ben Bishop 402.06 seconds, 2 Joe Bishop 429.96, 3 Ben Bates 466.48.
  • MX: 1. Steve Biddle 479.68.
  • Trail: 1. Jerry Walters 455.42, 2. Colin Jones 477.12.
  • Trial: 1. Ben Falconer 498.05, 2 Stuart Ridge (Beta) 527.53, 3 Merv Morgan (Montesa 250) 529.39.
  • Overall, top ten: 1. B Bishop, 2 J Bishop, 3 Walters, 4 Bates, 5 Jones, 6 Biddle, 7 Delahay, 8 Martin Howitt (KTM 200) 494.80, 9 Falconer, 10 Ian Vessey (KTM 200) 499.73.